In the Heart of the Sea

Based on the incredible true story that inspired Moby Dick

Categories: Thriller, Drama, Adventure, Action, History
In the winter of 1820, the New England whaling ship Essex was assaulted by something no one could believe: a whale of mammoth size and will, and an almost human sense of vengeance. The real-life maritime disaster would inspire Herman Melville’s Moby Dick.  But that told only half the story.  “Heart of the Sea” reveals the encounter’s harrowing aftermath, as the ship’s surviving crew is pushed to their limits and forced to do the unthinkable to stay alive.  Braving storms, starvation, panic and despair, the men will call into question their deepest beliefs, from the value of their lives to the morality of their trade, as their captain searches for direction on the open sea and his first mate still seeks to bring the great whale down.
Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 2015-11-20
Run time: 122 minute / 2:2
Budget: $100,000,000
Revenue: $93,820,758
Director: Ron Howard
Writer: Charles Leavitt
Production Companies : Imagine Entertainment, Spring Creek Productions, Roth Films, K. JAM Media, Cott Productions, Surf Film, Enelmar Productions, A.I.E., Warner Bros. Pictures
Production Countries: Spain, United States of America


Chris Hemsworth
as Owen Chase
Benjamin Walker
as George Pollard
Cillian Murphy
as Matthew Joy
Brendan Gleeson
as Old Thomas Nickerson
Ben Whishaw
as Herman Melville
Michelle Fairley
as Mrs. Nickerson
Tom Holland
as Young Thomas Nickerson
Paul Anderson
as Thomas Chappel
Frank Dillane
as Owen Coffin
Joseph Mawle
as Benjamin Lawrence
Edward Ashley
as Barzallai Ray
Sam Keeley
as Ramsdell
Osy Ikhile
as Richard Peterson
Gary Beadle
as William Bond
Jamie Sives
as Isaac Cole
Morgan Chetcuti
as Sheppard
Charlotte Riley
as Peggy
Nicholas Jones
as Pollard Senior
Donald Sumpter
as Paul Macy
Richard Bremmer
as Benjamin Fuller
Jordi Mollà
as Spanish Captain
Hayley Joanne Bacon
as Nantucket Townswoman
Andrew Crayford
as Customs Officer
Claudia Newman
as Nantucket Townswoman
Daniel Westwood
as Nantucket Passenger
Andy Wareham
as John Sanborn
Stephanie Jacob
as Tally Woman
Ron Howard Director

Will Ward Producer

Anthony Dod Mantle Director of Photography

Charles Leavitt Screenplay
Charles Leavitt Story
Rick Jaffa Story
Amanda Silver Story
Nathaniel Philbrick Novel

Katie Swain Camera Operator

Roque Baños Original Music Composer

Nina Gold Casting

Mike Hill Editor
Daniel P. Hanley Editor

Mark Tildesley Production Design

Jo Beckett Script Supervisor

Jonathan Prime Still Photographer

Costume & Make-Up
Julian Day Costume Design

Brian Grazer Producer
Ron Howard Producer
Joe Roth Producer
Paula Weinstein Producer
Diego Betancor Casting
Robert Sterne Casting Associate

Jon Baker Armorer
Angel Airan Bonilla Armorer
Lee Garside Armorer
Ben Rothwell Armorer

Kathy Hughes Script Supervisor

David Walter Music Editor
Paul John Chandler Music Editor
Karen Elliott Music Supervisor

Costume & Make-Up
Andrew Hunt Costume Supervisor
Kate Laver Set Costumer

Simon Finney Camera Operator

Michael Wood Second Unit Cinematographer

John Marzano Helicopter Camera
Alastair Rae Steadicam Operator
Peter Zuccarini Underwater Camera

Thomas Neivelt Gaffer
David Sinfield Gaffer
Brandon Evans Gaffer
Aaron Keating Gaffer
Tom O'Sullivan Rigging Gaffer

Visual Effects
Robyn Luckham Animation Supervisor
Pimentel A. Raphael Animation Supervisor
Eric Petey Animation Supervisor

Kieron Helsdon CG Supervisor
Mikaël Damant-Sirois CG Supervisor
Richard Sutherland CG Supervisor
Lukas Lepicovsky CG Supervisor

Visual Effects
Bryan Hirota VFX Supervisor
Anna Guseva Visual Effects Coordinator
Dave Kim Visual Effects Coordinator
Valdone Koronczi Visual Effects Coordinator
Donna Smith Visual Effects Coordinator
Eunice Khoo Visual Effects Coordinator
Nancy Lamontagne Visual Effects Coordinator
Chan Ee Jien Visual Effects Coordinator
Sam Girdler Visual Effects Coordinator
Crisanta Melendez Visual Effects Coordinator

Xinyi Puah Visual Effects Editor

Visual Effects
Leslie Lerman Visual Effects Producer
Oliver Money Visual Effects Producer
Marie-Cecile Dahan Visual Effects Producer
Dane Allan Smith Visual Effects Producer
Charlotte Loughnane Visual Effects Producer
Steve Griffith Visual Effects Producer
Sean Stranks Visual Effects Supervisor
François Dumoulin Visual Effects Supervisor
Jody Johnson Visual Effects Supervisor
Vincent Cirelli Visual Effects Supervisor

Karen Holt Special Effects Coordinator

Visual Effects
Mark Holt Special Effects Supervisor
Mike Kelt Special Effects Supervisor

Steve Little ADR & Dubbing

Steve Little Dialogue Editor

Iain Eyre ADR & Dubbing

Iain Eyre Dialogue Editor

Carsten Richter Foley
Markus Stemler Sound Designer
Stefan Busch Sound Editor
Helene Seidl Sound Editor
Chris Burdon Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Gilbert Lake Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Frank Kruse Supervising Sound Editor

Gabriela Dolenska Art Department Coordinator
Neal Callow Art Direction
Dean Clegg Art Direction
Nick Gottschalk Art Direction
James Collins Assistant Art Director
Isabel Gómez-Blanco Assistant Art Director
Meike Maher Construction Coordinator
Will Buchanan Greensman

Ben Wilkinson Property Master

Dominic Capon Set Decoration
Suzanna Smith Set Designer
Christian Huband Supervising Art Director
Niall Moroney Supervising Art Director

Costume & Make-Up
Luca Vannella Hairstylist
Karen Sherriff-Brown Hairstylist
Laura Schiavo Hairstylist
Haridian Nóbrega Hairstylist
Laura Lilley Hairstylist
Elisa Fernández Martín Hairstylist
Kirstin Chalmers Makeup Artist
Marilyn MacDonald Makeup Artist
Fae Hammond Makeup Designer

Begoña Lopez Digital Intermediate
Sophie Nguyen-Thomas Digital Intermediate
Simon Davis First Assistant Editor

Peter N. Brown Carpenter

Michele Tandy Finance

 © 2019

Powered by: