Dead of Night

Categories: Comedy, Horror, Mystery, Thriller
Architect Walter Craig, seeking the possibility of some work at a country farmhouse, soon finds himself once again stuck in his recurring nightmare. Dreading the end of the dream that he knows is coming, he must first listen to all the assembled guests' own bizarre tales.
Status: Released IMDb
Release date: 1945-09-04
Run time: 103 minute / 1:43
Directors: Charles Crichton, Basil Dearden, Robert Hamer, Alberto Cavalcanti.
Writers: Angus MacPhail, John Baines.
Production Company : Ealing Studios
Production Country: United Kingdom



Mervyn Johns
as Walter Craig
Roland Culver
as Eliot Foley
Mary Merrall
as Mrs. Foley
Googie Withers
as Joan Cortland (The Haunted Mirror)
Frederick Valk
as Dr. Van Straaten
Anthony Baird
as Hugh Grainger (The Hearse Conductor)
Sally Ann Howes
as Sally O'Hara (The Christmas Story)
Robert Wyndham
as Dr. Albury (The Christmas Story)
Judy Kelly
as Joyce Grainger (The Hearse Conductor)
Miles Malleson
as Hearse Driver (The Hearse Conductor)
Michael Allan
as Jimmy Watson (The Christmas Story)
Barbara Leake
as Mrs. O'Hara (The Christmas Story)
Ralph Michael
as Peter Cortland (The Haunted Mirror)
Esme Percy
as Antiques Dealer (The Haunted Mirror)
Basil Radford
as George Parratt (The Golfing Story)
Naunton Wayne
as Larry Potter (The Golfing Story)
Peggy Bryan
as Mary Lee (The Golfing Story)
Allan Jeayes
as Maurice Olcott (The Ventriloquist's Dummy)
Michael Redgrave
as Maxwell Frere (The Ventriloquist's Dummy)
Elisabeth Welch
as Beulah (The Ventriloquist's Dummy)
Hartley Power
as Sylvester Kee (The Ventriloquist's Dummy)
Magda Kun
as Mitzi (The Ventriloquist's Dummy)
Garry Marsh
as Harry Parker (The Ventriloquist's Dummy)
Renee Gadd
as Mrs. Craig
John McGuire
as Hugo Fitch (The Ventriloquist's Dummy) (uncredited)
Douglas Slocombe Director of Photography

Georges Auric Original Music Composer

Michael Balcon Producer

Charles Crichton Director

H.G. Wells Original Story

Basil Dearden Director

Michael Relph Art Direction

Robert Hamer Director
Alberto Cavalcanti Director

Angus MacPhail Screenplay
Angus MacPhail Original Story

T. E. B. Clarke Additional Dialogue

Charles Hasse Editor

John Baines Screenplay
John Baines Original Story
E.F. Benson Original Story

Roy Gough Still Photographer

 © 2020

Powered by: